Chapter 20: I’ll start the treatment now.

Today I learned that the nun outfit is callled a ‘habit’.

Apparently I’m spoiling you guys with these releases and you’ll probably go into withdrawal when I catch up and only TL 1 chapter a day…. but I like you readers, you guys leave meaningful comments that I can enjoy instead of plain, old, boring ‘thank you’s, so continue to be spoiled!

A/N: It starts with the Saint’s perspective. From now on, I think I will incorporate a third-person perspective instead of just first-person. I used a little bit of third-person this time because of the change in perspective, but I will be using third-person for battle scenes and so forth after this.

I’ll start the treatment now.

“Good morning, Father.”

As the Saint, and as the Princess, I came before my own father, the King.
I already know what the matter is. It is about curing the Queen, my mother, who has contracted a mysterious disease.

“Good morning, Luna. Needless to say, I called you hear today to talk about my wife. I want to ask you to heal her as the Saint, is that alright?”
“…..I don’t know if I can cure her but I will try.”

Father nods at my agreement and with the words “then I’ll leave it to you”, he returns to work.

 

“Mother, I’m coming in now.”

I called out from outside the room, but there was no reply so I just went in.
Mother was asleep on the bed but she didn’t appear to be sleeping very peacefully.

I remove her clothes and look for symptoms of the disease.
There were several dark patches on her back and there were several of the same dark patches on her arm as well. It looks like those are the symptoms of this disease.

“Well then, Mother, I’ll start the treatment now.”

In terms of recovery magic, the most well-known spell was [Heal], but that wasn’t all recovery magic entailed.
Firstly, if this disease contained some sort of poison, I would need to use [Poison Heal] instead of [Heal].
And there would be times when I would need to cast [Refresh] for when the illness caused fatigue.
However, I cast [Poison Heal] and [Refresh] on Mother many, many times but the patches on her arm and back showed no sign of disappearing at all.

 

When I let the king know the treatment failed, he completely stopped work for the day to grieve and moan.

“…..I’m sorry, Father. My power just wasn’t enough.”

I couldn’t live up to my mother and father because of my own powerlessness….

 

When I woke up in my room the next day, my whole body felt sluggish.
……Perhaps I overexerted my magic during yesterday’s treatment.
While thinking that, I started changing into my habit in front of my mirror, because I couldn’t neglect my work as the Saint.
Suddenly, I noticed something black on my arm.
It can’t be…. I look at my arm and saw small black patches just like the Queen had.
From then on, I understood that this disease was contagious.
Certainly, it would have been better if I had considered that yesterday but because it was my own mother, I had deemed it a serious matter and forgot all about that.
I immediately head to the king’s room. Fortunately it was early in the morning and there were no guards in front of the king’s room.

“Father, I’m sorry for coming so early but are you awake?”
“…..Yeah, I’m awake.”

Still affected by yesterday’s matter, Father’s voice didn’t have his usual sense of aspiration.

“Please, just let me talk here.”

I cannot afford to infect my father, the king, so I ask for permission to speak through the door.

“Actually, it’s about Mother’s disease that I tried to treat yesterday. It appears to be a contagious type and I’ve now been infected as well…..”
“What!?”
“Please don’t open the door!!”

Surprised, Father tried to open the door and I had to coerce him into stopping.

“I apologise but this disease doesn’t seem like something I can cure. And it appears that this disease is contagious so Mother and I will migrate to a room at one end of the castle. And after we separate, please immediately order a quarantine.”
“….U-understood. I’ll do as you say….”

Hearing that, I returned to my room, prepared a minimal amount of necessities and head towards the assigned room.
I had Mother moved under strict management.

 

A few days passed after that. Meals were delivered before the room three times a day but now I had difficulty even going to pick it up. Not getting enough food, my face also seemed to become thinner.
…..Although I went to the trouble of learning recovery magic, I wonder if I will end up dying without even saving my mother…..
Unable to stop the falling tears, I wept into my pillow for a long time.

 

…..When I awakened unintentionally, there seemed to be some kind of disturbance outside the room.
It wasn’t the usual sound of our meals being delivered and when I strained my ears to listen to the faint voices of the guards, I discovered that a rebel had infiltrated the castle.
…..From the sound I heard outside the room just now, it’s likely that the rebel is on the other side of the door.
Dragging my heavy body forward, I pick up the sword that was left in the room for some reason.

 

…..The door opened――

I raise the sword in my hand towards the arm poking out from the opening of the door and swing it down vigorously.

68 thoughts on “Chapter 20: I’ll start the treatment now.

      1. As a person who knows martial arts, I will tell you that all that rubbish is unnecessary. You just need willpower, adrenaline, technique, breathing technique, etc. and you can put out lots of power even if you don’t feel entirely well.

        Like

        1. Well, much appreciated. Japanese has a bit of ‘sounding it out’, but most of the time, you should just listen to it over and over til you figure out the syllables.
          At least in my experience…

          Like

  1. gaaahhh!!! Good chapter though, i prefer the lightheartedness of this LN to the darker/grittier ones are starting to get me down. It’s nice to laugh.
    So thx for the chapter.

    Like

  2. mmm… a meaningful comment? but i just want to say, thanks for the chapter
    mmm… lets see maybe like this
    if you boil two packs of cigarettes in a liter of water till the water consumes the result is a goei substance pure nicotine you can use it on bullets or knife, it can kill with even a scratch
    i hope is what you want
    anyway
    thanks for the chapter

    Like

  3. Well humans are able to exert superhuman strength at times of danger, so her being being able to lift a sword is just a natural thing since there a dangerous person roaming around~… It can also be that the sword is somewhat light…. Like a short sword, rapier and etc…. BTW thanks for the chapter 🙂

    Like

  4. Wha…? Why the cliff? Arghhhh!!! (Ouch, that hurt. *Bump my head on the keyboard*)

    Oh well! Nothing can be done. If this were chinese book, would go to read raw myself….

    By the way, thanks for the chap! I thought it going to be progress further instead it was only what happen to princess before nest heal her.

    A bit disappointed actually. (Alright, I admit. I actually ***** at the chapter. Well the chapter not the Translator, okay?)

    To Kookie: please dont be offended. I’ve no such intention.

    Like

    1. Well, i dont even know of this translate from ln or Kookie was the author. Will you enlighten me such knowledge? Is this original work or translation project? Which is it?

      Like

  5. Brother jalog100, is that what you say have been confirmed effective? what properties does it have that can kill? Im sorry to ask coz im not really knowledgeable in it since im not smoking and have no interest in nicotin…. 🙂

    Like

  6. Is there anyone else infected?
    Because unless it does something weird like spread through magic contact, it’s strange that it’s only got to the Queen so far. She’s going to be well fed and healthy, and not usually going near any hazardous places or people.
    Well, I suppose there could be an epidemic going round and it just somehow hasn’t been mentioned?
    Or it’s more deliberate, like a magic poison, which would be why it only hit the queen and her daughter.

    Thanks for your hard work, ~pyon~.

    Like

  7. Why do I get the feeling nest will have his cover blown quite quickly after he heals her? And also how far his healing abilities go as far as untreatable appears. Just wait til he figures out how to do AoE heals… Then military will attempt to exploit him for war potential later on and all though he already is very high in terms of being a suicide unit in a sense though I hope it doesn’t come down to that when possibly fighting a large scale battle later on again. Wonder if tre will be able to use healing as effective as nest later on? And the ability of the sisters to assist in fights too. Thanks for the chapter kooki and can’t wait for the next string of releases. Can’t think of a witty end comment though.

    Like

    1. I think that the saintess, Luna, will indeed discover that Nest was the one that saved herself and her mother, and that he was the one that cut off his own arm. There will be a period of disbelief for both parties, and in the end Luna will try to stick near Nest, either trying to learn form him, recruit nest(doubt), or she may have genuinely fallen in love with Nest. Just my theory. Anyone else have any other thoughts?

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I ain’t one to keep commenting, because I don’t expect my comments to be read (too many better comments), but I gotta say, Kookie, I really like to read your translations for the fun in it (in this case, story + images/gifs)

    About this chapter, I can only say one thing: sometimes I wonder why the hell the Saint is so weak… I mean, she knows a lot of spells, but she probably can cure at most a flu…

    Like

  9. Gah! What if the arm you just cut off were of your father’s the king? You cant just randomly swing sharp weapons to someome without knowing who it was! Shes really sick uh, uhu!

    Ah, just what do yo think would happen if its not the arm you accidentaly chopped apart but actually someone’s birdy while in morning wood mode and hes not even a healer like our fuckng op mc’s level.

    Like

  10. Costume… isn’t wrong, technically, but you could have at least said garb or garment. When you use the term costume, it sounds like she’s playing dress-up.

    Like

  11. Plain old boring thank you from a plain old leecher. Atleast its better than having some ignorant freaks rant about this chapter’s shortness. I only fear for the future when toxics discover this place. Anyway, that’s not something to worry about right now.

    Chapter reaction? Fck its a very short unimportant flashback (damn you author). I feel that his heal is the highest heal in RPGs comparable to elixirs. Full HP/stamina and remove all debuffs. Maybe if he discovers a way to ‘Heal’ MP back to full then he can solo any enemy army (as long as they dont one-shot him).

    Everybody already knows that she’s gonna drop in the harem basket (or is a truck more appropriate?), Im expecting something similar to Meiya from GunOta, a very diligent disciple that revere’s Nest like a god. Though she might be different since this princess saint actually swings a sword instead of a typical dagger (lighter)

    Like

  12. so much pressure, I couldn’t come up with something meaningful. But hey, if Nest’s heal magic can recreate cells and muscle tissue, does that mean Nest can create life?

    Like

  13. Hi! Found this accidentally and got rea~lly interested with the story. Just asking how regular the update is? So i can incorporate it at my to-visit list everyday XD

    Like

  14. Ha…oh kind of sad that ….but imagine what you’d think when your greeted by a cat cosplayer after being quarantined …..you’d think the world was going mad …lol

    Like

  15. So, before properly confirming who it is, you swing down the sword and cut their arm off. I guess that’s fine. It would’ve been hilarious if it was actually her father or something 😀

    Like

  16. I remove her clothes and look for symptoms of the disease.
    There were several dark patches on her back and there were several of the same dark patches on her arm as well. It looks like those are the symptoms of this disease.

    Rule #1 of Medicine: NEVER touch the patient without protection.

    Like

Leave a comment